I I I
menu

A4 Thermal Printer

A Microplex A4 thermal printer (8 inch print width) saves time and money by providing a high quality and decodable print of complex bar codes..

Microplex offers you a product range of A4 thermal printers with a printing width of 8 inches. Here you have the choice to find the perfect thermal printer for your application.

logiJET T8-3SOLID T8SOLID 45ETlogiJET TC8
Industrial MidrangeHigh-SpeedHigh-VolumeIndustrial Two Colour

Why 8 inch print width for A5 barcode labels?

When the label size is A5 (210mm x 148.5mm) this can also be printed with a 6 inch wide printer but this must be printed narrow way i.e. 148.5 mm edge. This is possible without problems for many applications; however, when bar codes are printed and the printing direction of these barcodes is defined by the definition of the labels, a 6 inch printer can cause various problems when printing these. An example of this showing clearly the problem: The VDA label. The VDA label is used in the automotive sector, it is in the format A5 (210x148.5 mm) and has been defined by the Association of the Automotive Industry and looks as follows:

On this print pattern of a Microplex 8 inch thermal printer with the label being delivered wide way out of the printer it can be seen that the barcodes are arranged in the correct direction i.e. “picket fence” format. This is the sensible way to print this label because of the better print quality, the life of the print head and the readability of the bar codes as averse to printing in “ladder” format which is in effect against the print direction.

Your benefits with a Microplex 8 inch / A4 thermal printer:

  • If your label design is in the narrow way format: with Microplex no problem, the printers have a configurable, automatic image rotation, so that the existing data can be printed in wide way format.

     

  • If your data is currently designed for a 203 dpi printer: no problem thanks to the intelligent scaling of the print resolution, you can keep your 203 dpi data unchanged and it will print in 300dpi on a Microplex 8 inch printer. This allows all existing applications to be printed without extensive customisation. At the same time, you are prepared for all possible future requirements with the modern printing solutions from Microplex.
    •  

Does the printing direction matter? Yes it does!

This is due to the technology of thermal printing, a thermal printer prints using a print head. This print head has a number of heating elements distributed over the entire possible printing width. Each heating element represents a pixel (dot). If a pixel of a character or a graphic is to be produced on a thermal printer, this heating element is heated. Through this heating, either a dot on thermo sensitive paper (thermal direct printing) or a dot is transferred to the label (thermal transfer printing) with the aid of a thermal transfer film. Although these heating elements are very small, they nevertheless require a certain time to heat up and to cool again after the printing of the pixel. During this time, the label moves forward in the direction of paper travel under the printhead and is further discoloured..

Theoretically, a printed pixel is exactly round in practice it runs slightly in the paper direction as the following graphic illustrates:

When printing bar codes, this property causes the edges in the paper travel direction to become more or less frayed. If a barcode is printed with its bars in the paper feed direction, only the lower ends of the individual bars are slightly blurred. This is irrelevant as far as the size is concerned and decodabilty.

However, if a barcode is printed transversely to the direction of travel, each bar is frayed on one side over its entire length. Since these infractions are located in the gaps between the individual bar code lines, this has a very great influence on the size of the code and hence directly affects the quality of the decode. In the worst case, when such a bar code is no longer decodable, the consequences can range from a slowdown in through put due to key entry or a complete rework to fulfil the customer’s actual requirements. This must be borne in mind as the on costs could be decisive.

The figure shows the same barcode twice on the same label only the printing direction is rotated by 90 °. Here it is easy to see that the bar code is altered in its ratio by the so called "ladder print", i.e. the bars transversely to the direction of travel.

This means that the bars become wider and the gaps become narrower. This changes the quality and legibility of the barcodes only by the direction.

The smaller the bar code is that needs to be printed, the more the effect will be, as the following figure clearly shows:

 

These barcodes were printed with a width of approx. 12mm..

This effect can be alleviated by reduced print speed or larger barcodes, but all of these measures are at the expense of performance. With Microplex A4 thermal printers, you can also print small barcodes with the right orientation and maximum performance and quality.

How is the life of the print heads affected?

Each thermal printhead has a limited life. As a rule, this is about 50,000 meters at thermal transfer printing. This applies to "normal" application. Each time a heating element is switched on and off, the service life is reduced. The barcode example shows a barcode with 30 bars. When the printing direction is correct, i.e. the bars are oriented in the direction of paper travel, each heating element involved is switched on and off once for this bar code. In between, it remains active and prints a continuous line.

The optimal alignment of the bar codes during printing results in a significantly better utilisation of the maximum possible life of the print heads and thus lowers the printing costs.

More labels at the same printing speed

A further aspect is the print throughput. At the same printing speed, the difference between the print of an A5 label in the wide way format versus the narrow way format is over 40%

When you are printing 100 A5 labels with a 6 inch wide printer, you will produce about 140 labels at the same speed with an 8 inch wide printer over the same time period.

On the other hand, this means that a label printed on an 8 inch wide printer is 40% faster. This is a tremendous performance enhancement in "just-in-time" applications, which has a positive impact on your overall application.

This assumes, of course, that the controller in the printer that is being used is capable of processing the print data accordingly as quick. With a Microplex A4 thermal printer, this is also the case for complex data. Microplex thermal printers support most printer emulations in the thermal market. This makes it possible to select the optimum printer language for the highest performance for every application.

Overwiew Emulations
Thermal Printer Laser Printer Matrix Printer More Emulations
ZPL II PCL5 IGP/VGL CUPS Raster
EPL2 IGP/PGL EPSON FX-80 µ-Postscript
Datamax XES ANSI Genicom HPGL
TEC Prescribe CODE-V TIFF
IER-Command Kodescript+ MT-600  
UBI FingerPrint AGFA RENO IBM ProPrinter Diabolo 630
LDC LN03+   Lineprinter
Labelpoint Bull-MP690   HP DesignJet
ETIMARK MP-1220      

Future-proof through firmware updates

With a Microplex A4 thermal printer, you are already equipped for tomorrow's applications. The Microplex Controller not only provides the highest performance when processing your print data, it can also be updated at any time by means of a firmware update.

With the Microplex A4 thermal printers a variety of optimisations can be realised in the workflow. Together with Microplex certified label material and colour ribbons, you always print your labels reliably and in the best possible quality.

Look at the benefits of the Microplex A4 Thermal printer:

  • Fast
  • Printing in top quality
  • Highest throughput, optimally short printing times
  • Consistent printing speed even with complex, variable data
  • Future proof through firmware updates

I I I
menu

A4 Thermodrucker

Microplex A4 Thermodrucker (8 Zoll Druckbreite)  sparen Zeit und Geld durch sauberen und jederzeit lesbaren Ausdruck von komplexen Barcodes.

Sie erhalten bei Microplex eine Produktpalette von A4 Thermodruckern mit einer Druckbreite von 8 Zoll. Hier haben Sie die Auswahl, um den perfekten Thermodrucker für Ihre Anwendung zu finden.

logiJET T8-3SOLID T8SOLID 45ETlogiJET TC8
Industrie-MidrangeHigh-SpeedHigh-Volume

Industrial Two Colour

Warum 8 Zoll Druckbreite bei A5 Barcode Etiketten?

Das Papierformat A5 (210mm x 148,5mm) z.B. kann grundsätzlich auch mit einem nur 6 Zoll breiten Drucker gedruckt werden. Dazu wird das Format über die schmale Seite, also 148,5mm, transportiert.

Bei vielen Anwendungen ist dies auch problemlos möglich. Wenn jedoch Barcodes gedruckt werden und die Druckrichtung dieser Barcodes über die Definition der Etiketten vorgegeben ist, ergeben sich hierbei mit einem schmalen Drucker diverse Probleme. Ein Beispiel zeigt dies deutlich: Das VDA Etikett.

Das VDA Etikett wird in der Automobilbranche verwendet, ist im Format A5 (210x148,5 mm) und wurde vom Verband der Automobilindustrie definiert und sieht in etwa folgendermaßen aus:

Auf diesem Druckmuster eines Microplex 8 Zoll Thermodruckers ist zu sehen, dass die Barcodes in Richtung des Querformates angeordnet sind. Es ist im Sinne der Druckqualität, Lebensdauer des Druckkopfes und der Lesbarkeit der Barcodes sinnvoll, dieses Etikett im Querformat zu drucken. 

Ihre Vorteile mit einem Microplex 8 Zoll / A4 Thermodrucker

  • Ihre Daten liegen im Längsformat vor:
    Mit Microplex keine Problem, die Drucker verfügen über eine konfigurierbare, automatische Bilddrehung, so dass die vorhandenen Daten im Querformat gedruckt werden können.

  • Ihre Daten liegen in 203 dpi vor:
    Dank der intelligenten Skalierung der Druckauflösung können Sie Ihre 203 dpi Daten unverändert auf einem Microplex 8 Zoll Thermodrucker ausgeben. Damit können alle vorhandenen Anwendungen ohne aufwändige Anpassung gedruckt werden. Gleichzeitig sind Sie mit den modernen Druckwerken von Microplex für zukünftige Aufgaben gerüstet.

Ist die Druckrichtung nicht egal? Keineswegs

Dies liegt in der Technologie des Thermodrucks begründet. Ein Thermodrucker druckt mit Hilfe eines Druckkopfes. Dieser Druckkopf besitzt über die gesamte mögliche Druckbreite verteilt eine Reihe von Heizelementen. Jedes Heizelement steht für einen Pixel (Dot). Soll nun ein Pixel eines Zeichens  oder einer Grafik auf einem Thermodrucker erzeugt werden, wird dieses Heizelement erwärmt. Durch diese Erwärmung verfärbt sich entweder ein Punkt auf thermosensitivem Papier (Thermodirektdruck), oder es wird ein Punkt mit Hilfe einer Thermotransferfolie auf das Etikett übertragen (Thermotransferdruck). Diese Heizelemente sind zwar sehr klein, benötigen aber dennoch eine gewisse Zeit, um aufzuheizen und nach dem Druck des Pixel wieder abzukühlen. Während dieser Zeit bewegt sich das Etikett unter dem Druckkopf in Papierlaufrichtung vorwärts und wird weiter verfärbt.

Theoretisch ist ein gedruckter Pixel exakt rund, in der Praxis verläuft er leicht in Papierlaufrichtung, wie folgende Grafik veranschaulicht:

Diese Eigenschaft führt beim Druck von Barcodes dazu, dass die Kanten in Papierlaufrichtung mehr oder weniger stark ausgefranst sind. Wird ein Barcode mit seinen Balken in Papierlaufrichtung gedruckt, sind nur die unteren Enden der einzelnen Balken etwas unscharf. Dies spielt für die Geometrie und Lesbarkeit keine Rolle.

Wird ein Barcode jedoch quer zur Laufrichtung gedruckt, so ist jeder Balken an einer Seite über die gesamte Länge ausgefranst. Da sich diese Ausfransungen in den Lücken zwischen den einzelnen Barcodelinien befinden, hat dies einen sehr großen Einfluss auf die Geometrie des Codes. Damit auch direkt auf die Güte der Lesbarkeit. Um ungünstigen Fall ist ein solcher Barcode nicht mehr lesbar. Die Folgen können von Mehrarbeit und Zeitverlust durch manuelle Nacharbeit bis zu Regressforderungen von Kunden reichen. Dies gilt es zu bedenken. 

Auf der Abbildung sehen sie zweimal den gleichen Barcode auf demselben Etikett, nur die Druckrichtung ist um 90° gedreht. Hier ist gut zu erkennen, dass durch den sogenannten „Leiterdruck“, also die Balken quer zur Laufrichtung, der Barcode in seiner Ratio verändert wird.

Das bedeutet, die Balken werden breiter, die Lücken werden schmaler.  Dies verändert nur durch die Richtung des Ausdruckes die Güte und Lesbarkeit der Barcodes.

Je kleiner der Barcode gedruckt werden muss, desto mehr wirkt sich dieser Effekt aus, wie das folgende Bild deutlich zeigt:

 

Diese Barcodes wurden mit einer Breite von ca. 12mm gedruckt.

Es kann versucht werden, diesen Effekt durch reduzierte Druckgeschwindigkeit oder größere Barcodes zu vermindern, jedoch gehen alle diese Maßnahmen zu Lasten der Performance. Mit Microplex A4 Thermodruckern drucken Sie auch kleine Barcodes in korrekter Ausrichtung und maximaler Performance und Qualität.    

Wie verhält sich die Lebensdauer der Druckköpfe?

Jeder Thermodruckkopf hat eine begrenzte Lebensdauer. In der Regel beträgt diese bei Thermotransferdruck ca. 50.000 Meter. Dies gilt bei „normaler“ Anwendung. Jedes Einschalten und Ausschalten eines Heizelementes verkürzt die Lebensdauer. Das Barcodebeispiel zeigt einen Barcode mit 30 Balken. Bei korrekter Druckrichtung, also die Balken sind in Papierlaufrichtung orientiert, wird jedes beteiligte Heizelement für diesen Barcode genau einmal eingeschaltet und einmal wieder ausgeschaltet. Dazwischen bleibt es aktiv und druckt eine durchgehende Linie.

Dieses Druckverhalten ist schonend für den Kopf, besonders auch durch die spezielle Druckkopfsteuerung (History control) in einem Microplex 8 Zoll Thermodrucker. Im anderen Fall, also die Balken quer zur Papierlaufrichtung orientiert, werden die entsprechenden Heizelemente für den selben Barcode 30 mal ein- und ausgeschaltet! Dies bedeutet den 30-fachen Stress für die Heizelemente. Das dies die Lebensdauer eines Druckkopfes deutlich reduziert, leuchtet ein.

Die folgende Grafik veranschaulicht diesen Umstand sehr deutlich:

Die optimale Ausrichtung der Barcodes beim Druck führt zu einer deutlich besseren Ausnutzung der maximal möglichen Lebensdauer der Druckköpfe und senkt damit die Druckkosten.

Mehr Etiketten bei gleicher Druckgeschwindigkeit

Ein weiterer Aspekt ist der Druckdurchsatz. Bei gleicher Druckgeschwindigkeit ist der Unterschied zwischen Druck eines A5 Etiketts im Querformat gegenüber Längsformat über 40%.

Während Sie mit einem 6 Zoll breiten Drucker in einem bestimmten Zeitraum 100 Etiketten drucken, produzieren Sie im gleichen Zeitraum mit einem 8 Zoll breiten Drucker bei gleicher Geschwindigkeit ca. 140 Etiketten.

Dies bedeutet andererseits auch, dass ein Etikett auf einem 8 Zoll breiten Drucker um 40% schneller gedruckt wird. Dies ist bei „Just-In-Time“ Anwendungen eine enorme Performancesteigerung, die Ihre gesamte Anwendung positiv beeinflusst.

Dies setzt natürlich voraus, dass der Controller im eingesetzten Drucker in der Lage ist, die Druckdaten entsprechend schnell aufzubereiten. Bei einem Microplex A4 Thermodrucker ist dies, auch bei komplexen Daten, gegeben. Microplex Thermodrucker unterstützen die meisten Druckeremulationen im Thermomarkt. Damit kann für jede Anwendung die optimale Druckersprache für höchste Performance gewählt werden.

Übersicht Emulationen
Thermal Drucker Laser Drucker Matrix Drucker Weitere Emulationen
ZPL II PCL5 IGP/VGL CUPS Raster
EPL2 IGP/PGL EPSON FX-80 µ-Postscript
Datamax XES ANSI Genicom HPGL
TEC Prescribe CODE-V TIFF
IER-Command Kodescript+ MT-600  
UBI FingerPrint AGFA RENO IBM ProPrinter Diabolo 630
LDC LN03+   Lineprinter
Labelpoint Bull-MP690   HP DesignJet
ETIMARK MP-1220      

Weitere Emulationen auf Anfrage

Zukunftssicher durch Firmware-Updates

Mit einem Microplex A4 Thermodrucker sind Sie schon heute für die Anwendungen von Morgen gerüstet. Die Microplex 8 Zoll Thermodrucker stellen nicht nur höchste Performance bei der Verarbeitung Ihrer Druckdaten zur Verfügung, sie können bei Bedarf auch durch ein Firmware-Updaten jederzeit auf aktuellem Stand gehalten werden.

Mit den Microplex A4 Thermodruckern lässt sich eine Vielzahl von Optimierungen im Workflow realisieren. Zusammen mit Microplex zertifiziertem Etikettenmaterial und Farbbändern drucken Sie Ihre Etiketten stets zuverlässig und zeitgerecht in optimaler Qualität.

Sichern auch Sie sich die Vorteile der Microplex A4 Thermodrucker:

 

  • Schnell
  • Drucken in Top Qualität
  • Höchster Durchsatz, optimal kurze Druckzeiten
  • Gleichbleibende Druckgeschwindigkeit auch bei komplexen, variablen Daten
  • Zuverlässiger Druck mit Microplex zertifiziertem Material (Etiketten und Farbband/Ribbon)
  • Zukunftssicher durch Firmware-Updates

Entdecken Sie noch heute Ihre Einsparpotenziale und nehmen Kontakt zu uns auf.